Week 0-1, Breakfast: Baking/cooking new things

On top of buying lots of new food items, I also wanted to try baking/cooking a few new things to see what works and what doesn’t work.

My first attempt was coming up with new things for breakfast, both for the new diet restrictions but also because my aunt said I need to be having protein and next to no carbs/sugar in the morning.  Since my normal breakfast consisted of cereal, I new this would be quite a challenge for me!  Especially since the thought of certain items first thing in the morning make me wanna gag 😛  So when she suggested steel cut oats with some fruit and nuts, I thought that sounded like something I could handle.  I picked up a bag of Bob Red Mill’s steel cut oats (cheaper than the other brands) and cooked 1 cup on the stove  with some cinnamon, according to the instructions (about 4 servings).  Once it thickened and cooled, I separated it into four different containers and stuck them in the fridge to eat throughout the week.  I took one out in the morning, added some frozen blueberries, chopped walnuts, rice milk, and ground flax seed and heated it up in the microwave.  First taste, BLAND.  But I wasn’t supposed to have sugar!! so I choked down as much as could and headed to work.  The next morning, I decided I had to add some agave nectar or I just couldn’t get it down.  No morning was able to eat an entire “serving,” it just was not very enjoyable.  SO I will return to steel cut oats at some point, but I have decided to take a bit of a break until the thought of them doesn’t make me gag…

So since then, I have moved on to making smoothies most mornings and having some Canadian bacon or smoked salmon.  My smoothies haven’t been super appetizing either because I have been adding ProGreens probiotics (this green powder substance that’s part of my supplement regimen), but believe me, the ProGreens masked by fruit, etc is MUCH better than just trying to drink it straight up in water.  So typically my smoothies have been frozen blueberries, a few frozen peaches (just b/c I had some), rice/almond/coconut milk, ProGreens powder, ground flaxseed, and maybe a little Truvia or agave nectar if needed.  This was ok, but still hard to drink, so I thought to add some sunflower butter and that has made a huge difference!  To get a little more protein, I have also added vanilla flavored hemp protein powder.. it’s hard to tell if this is cruddy tasting since the ProGreens is also green and gross, but so far I’m not overly impressed.  Especially when I attempted to just mix it with rice milk this morning and it was all grainy and chunky.. ick!  So I’ll keep choking this down, but I don’t think I’ll buy it again.  My aunt is supposed to get me some pea protein, so maybe that will be better.

Another attempt at breakfast was squash!  I had a butternut and pumpkin sitting around so I got those cooked up one night just to get them into the freezer and then thought hey, that doesn’t sound too bad for breakfast!  So I left some out in the fridge and the next morning, I mixed in some rice milk, walnuts, ground flaxseed and cinnamon.  Now, if I had stopped here I think it would have been fine, but I thought hey I need some more protein, so I added some hemp protein.. and proceeded to turn the whole thing a rather sickly orange-green color.  I brought it with me to work since I was running late and zapped it in the microwave.. and it wasn’t terrible, but it wasn’t great either mainly because of that darn hemp protein!  *sigh*

One of the things that goes with this whole elimination diet is trying not to have the exact same thing every day, so I’m constantly trying to think of things that sound good for breakfast, but so far the smoothie/meat combo has tasted best.  I did just realize that a waffle recipe I was making for myself during my marathon training will still work with my new restrictions, so I’m going to make some of those up and freeze them soon.  Here’s the recipe:

Vegan Pinole-Chia Waffles

Ingredients

3/4 cup medium to finely ground cornmeal or pinole (I just used regular cornmeal and didn’t grind it up, it seemed pretty “fine” to me!)
1/4 cup chia seeds
1/4 cup oats, ground
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 cup applesauce
1 cup almond milk (I added a few more splashes b/c it just seemed too thick)
1 tbsp vegetable oil
1 tbsp maple syrup
1 tsp vanilla extract

Instructions

If starting with cornmeal instead of pinole, toast it lightly in a pan over medium heat for about 5 minutes, until it is lightly browned and fragrant.  If you are using real pinole, grind in a coffee grinder to make into a fine-textured flour.

Preheat waffle iron.

Stir together the cornmeal, chia, ground oats, salt, and baking powder.  In a separate bowl, mix together the applesauce, milk, oil, maple syrup, and vanilla.

Stir the wet ingredients into the dry to combine into a smooth batter.  Spray the waffle iron with baking spray even if it is nonstick, and pour batter into hot iron.  Follow the directions of your waffle iron, or wait until the iron stops steaming.

Carefully remove waffles from iron, re-spray the waffle iron with cooking spray, and repeat.  This was enough batter to fill my waffle iron two and a half times, making 5 small waffles.

To enjoy immediately, top with maple syrup and the fruits of your choice.  Alternatively, slice into bars, freeze and take on your next run.

Total Servings: 4

Leave a Reply

