Week 2: So far…

Well so far, I wish I could say that I am feeling fabulous!  But I would say that I haven’t seen a huge change..  I am still having the same stomach issues and am still feeling pretty low on energy most days.  I think I’m going to start keeping track of what I eat, my GI status, and energy levels every day (when I remember).  So as not to be too detailed, I think I’ll use a “ranking” system for the latter two.. 🙂  I know that it will take time, so I’m not discouraged, but it would be nice to see some improvements!

As far as new foods tried, I had one of my millet hot dogs: it was okay, but rather dry, so I don’t know that I would bother buying them again.  I got the pea protein from my aunt and added it to a smoothie and it seems much better than the hemp protein!  I haven’t tried it just mixed in milk but I think it will work pretty well.  It’s from “Designs for Health” which you need a login to make purchases, so I have no idea how much this stuff costs…  Oh I also had the carrot cake flavor of the NuGO Free bar and it was just okay but not wonderful.  I already ordered a whole box of the bars by Bakery on Main, so I think those will be my go to bars.  Tonight I made up some homemade granola for a new breakfast option; here’s the recipe, adapted a bit from my uncle’s original recipe:

Uncle Steve’s Granola

4 cups old fashioned oatmeal

1 cup chopped walnuts

¼ cup vanilla hemp protein

¼ cup sunflower seeds

¼ cup ground flax seed

Several shakes of pumpkin pie spice

Mix well and then add:

1/3 cup canola oil

½ cup honey

1 tbsp mango butter (just for some extra flavor)

Mix well and then spread onto two cookie sheets. Bake at 300 degrees for 25 minutes or until golden brown.  Remove from oven and stir in about 1 cup of dried fruit (I did half cup of raisins and half cup of dates and about ¼ cup of coconut flakes).  Remove promptly onto a separate cookie sheet to cool, then store in bags or sealed jar.

Leave a Reply

