Week 3: Ready to see improvements, come on!

I was hoping by week 3 I might start feeling a little better, but so far I would say I haven’t seen a lot of improvement.  Friday was my work luncheon and dinner party, so I was super careful about what I ate: salad and chicken at the lunch; sushi, candy (hah), and wine at the dinner.  And yet I felt horrible on Saturday, and not just like a “I had too much wine” type of horrible 🙂  So that was pretty frustrating since I felt just as crappy by being careful about what I ate as I would have had I just indulged in the delicious looking pecan pie!!  I know these things take time, so I’m trying not to get discouraged.. :-/

On Sunday, I tried out Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Mighty Tasty Hot Cereal, which contains brown rice, corn, buckwheat, and sorghum.  It had a consistency kind of between oatmeal and cream of wheat; I added raisins, sunflower seeds, and agave nectar.  It’s okay, I can’t quite decide if I like it more than steel cut oats or not.  I have a few bowls left in the fridge, so we’ll see what I think at the end of the week 🙂  I also made some vegan oatmeal cookies: http://www.cookiemadness.net/2008/06/chewy-vegan-oatmeal-raisin-cookies/  I thought they were pretty tasty and even my Bible study friends and husband thought they were good, so score one for cookies I can eat haha!

It certainly has been hard with all the Christmas parties trying to be “good” haha 🙂  But at the same time, sometimes it has been nice to have an excuse to not eat stuff that’s not good for me anyways, diet or not.  I just try to always have things on hand that I can eat  and not get to the “I’m starving” stage that might cause me to eat whatever is first in sight 🙂

Leave a Reply

