The Bad and the Good

The weekend started out not so great for my GI tract or for sticking with my diet.  Saturday I was plagued with stomach issues and I have no idea why!  I was good all day Friday as well as breakfast and lunch on Saturday, so I was very discouraged to have such problems even when I was doing a good job of sticking with my diet.  SO, since I was already miserable and we were going out for dinner, I splurged on pizza!!  And boy was it tasty 🙂 🙂  Amazingly, I did not feel sick immediately after eating and even today, while I wouldn’t say my stomach is fabulous, I actually feel better than I was feeling most of the day on Saturday.  It all seems a little strange to me because I have not seen much consistency in that on the days where I’m really good at sticking with my diet, I don’t consistently feel good.  And same with the days where I’m maybe not as good, I don’t necessarily feel worse than on the days where I’m “being good.”

After being “bad” for a night, I thought I’d be good and make up some baked goods that follow my diet.  So first  I decided to give the GF Bisquick that my mom gave me a try, along with the Ener-G Egg Replacer.  I made up biscuits and pancakes, which sadly used up my whole box.  Neither item got very brown like you’d be used to seeing, but they both tasted pretty good!  So after making those up I got them into the freezer for later consumption.  Here’s the recipes:

GF Bisquick Biscuits

2 cups Bisquick GF Mix

1/3 cup coconut butter

2/3 cup coconut milk

3 times 1 1/2 tsp Ener-G Egg Replacer plus 2 tbsp water

Heat over to 400 degrees.  Cut coconut butter into mix using a fork until particles are size of small peas.  Stir in remaining ingredients until soft dough forms.  Drop by spoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake 16-18 mins (never really got golden brown..).  Makes 10 biscuits.

GF Bisquick Pancakes

1 cup Bisquick GF Mix

1 cup coconut milk

2 tbsp veg oil

1 1/2 tsp Ener-G Egg Replacer plus 2 tbsp water

Stir ingredients until blended.  Pour slightly less than 1/4 cup onto hot greased griddle.  Cook until edges are dry.  Turn; cook until golden.  Makes 10 pancakes.

Next up, I made some GF Bread in the oven instead of in the bread machine.  I think this was pretty successful, though maybe a little sour tasting and a little short for sandwich bread.

Delicious GF Bread Recipe

2 cups brown rice flour

1 cup potato starch

2 tsp xanthum gum

1 1/4 tsp salt

2 1/4 tsp rapid dry yeast

1 1/4 cups warm water (110-115 degrees)

3 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp agave nectar

1/2 tsp rice vinegar (can also use is white wine cider vinegar or lemon juice)

1 tbsp Ener-G Egg Replacer whisked with 4 tbsp warm water till frothy

Whisk dry ingredients together, then add wet ingredients and mix with electric mixer using the paddle attachment for 2 minutes.  The bread dough will be more like cake batter than traditional bread dough.  For rising, create a proofing box in your microwave.  Microwave a small mug of water until it boils.  Leave the water in the microwave.  Pour the bread dough into one well-greased bread pan and then put in the microwave.  Allow to rise until batter extends a bit over the top of the pans (about 50 mins).  Bake at 400 degrees for 10 mins, then remove loaf and cover with aluminum foil.  Return to oven and bake for additional 40-45 mins.

The final thing that I made tonight were some energy bars, thanks to the idea from HyVee’s most recent “Seasons” magazine.  They gave several different things you could use to make them, so I used what I had on hand.

Homemade Energy Bars

2 cups quick oats

3/4 cup agave nectar

3/4 cup sunflower nut butter

1 cup ground flaxseed

1 cup vanilla hemp protein powder

1 cup chopped walnuts

1/2 cup raisins

1/2 cup dates

Mix all ingredients together using an electric mixer or food processor.  Press evenly into a greased 8-inch square glass dish.  Refrigerate to firm bars.  Makes 16.

Leave a Reply

