Cornbread part 3? or 4?

I know I have made cornbread SEVERAL times over the last month or two and each time I vary it just a little bit, mostly based on what I do or don’t have on hand 🙂  This is a variation the walnut-cornbread I’ve made I think twice before?  I found another recipe online that I’d like to try sometime, but it called for applesauce which I don’t currently have.

Walnut-Cornbread

3/4 cup cornmeal

1 cup brown rice flour

1 cup finely chopped walnuts

1/3 cup sugar (could probably add less next time)

1 tbsp baking powder

1/2 tsp kosher salt

1/4 tsp black pepper

1/2 cup rice milk (all I had on hand was the vanilla, would def use plain next time)

1/2 cup coconut milk (same as above)

4 tbsp warm water mixed with 3 tsp Ener-G Egg Replacer (aka 2 eggs)

4 tbsp canola oil

1 cup frozen corn, thawed and then pulverized

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Grease an 8X8 pan.  In a medium bowl, whisk together cornmeal, flour, walnuts, sugar, baking powder, salt and pepper.  In another bowl, combine the milk, eggs, oil, and corn.  Add to the cornmeal mixture and stir until just combined.  Pour the mixture into prepared pan.  Bake until golden brown- this took longer than I thought! The original recipe said 15 mins for muffins, I started at 18 mins and added in 4 min intervals for a total time of 30 mins.  So I’d say start at 22 mins and see what you think!

Leave a Reply

