More FOOOD

In addition to my girl CCK, I have found lots of other fun recipes that work with my diet on Pinterest.  Here’s a list of the ones that I can recall that I’ve tried in the last month or so, again with a rating of 0 (inedible) to 5 (no one would believe it was healthy):

Chocolate Raspberry Cupcakes with Chocolate Banana Glaze: 5 (made this for my husband for Valentine’s Day.. he thought it was good, but not as amazing as I did.. def need to warm it up before eating though, that made a big difference!)

Coconut Lime Roasted Chickpeas: 4 (very good, I just don’t know what it is about roasting chickpeas, but mine never get “crispy” like I think they should! still good.. but I always expect a nice crunch and don’t get it…)

Kale, Mushroom and Sun-dried Tomato Salad: 5 (I didn’t put it over polenta like the recipe specifies, I just sauteed the other ingredients and we ate it as a salad- even the hubby enjoyed!)

Sweet Potato Bites: 2 (I don’t know what I was expecting, but these were extremely underwhelming, especially considering all the time and mess they took!!)

Lemon Avocado Chickpea Salad: 5 (I actually didn’t add the quinoa, I’m sure it would have been equally good with it, I just didn’t find it necessary.  Made this twice and was again something the hubby liked!)

Chickpea Burgers: 4 (pretty good, though the “burger” quality was iff-ish.. I just ate them with fork and knife and it was fine :); obviously I omitted the pepper and I used green onions instead of white since that’s what I had and prefer)

Avocado Hummus: 5 (I only used one avocado and of course used SMOKED paprika- turned out great!)

Moroccan Braised Chicken with Carrots & Golden Raisins: 5 (no, not vegan but otherwise worked with my diet! good flavor and husband approved)

Walnut Butter: 5

I basically just looked at how to make nut butter and then added the flavors I wanted. Here’s what I did, it was SOO easy!  This was the number one thing I wanted to make with my new food processor 🙂

4 cups of raw walnuts

A drizzle or two of canola oil (walnut oil would be better, but used what I had)

BIG shakes of pumpkin pie spice (I like to FEEL the cinnamon hah!)

About 1 tsp of salt

1-2 tbsp dark agave nectar

Blend the walnuts in a GOOD food processor for like 5 minutes.  I actually did 2 cups first, then added the second set of 2 cups.  Don’t know if that was necessary, but I thought it might be easier on the food processor.  Once it was all very blended, I added a little bit of oil and scraped the sides of the food processor, then blended again.  After that I added the spices and salt and blended a little bit longer.  Then I transferred it to the storage container and added the agave nectar, stirring it up till it was mixed in.  Then it went into the fridge!  I have been enjoying it thoroughly on apples and celery!

Leave a Reply

