Cheat week

With the plan to fully implement the FODMAP diet coming up this weekend, I haven’t been quite as careful about what I’m eating and have intentionally eaten things that I knew wouldn’t be the best for me.  I know, not the greatest mindset and I really don’t recommend the “gorge yourself before diet” mentality, but it has been a busy week and my willpower was low.

So needless to say, I’ve been feeling pretty miserable this week, thanks to two pizza splurges and a few desserts.  I have at least found a few GF pizza crust recipes, so with some planning, I don’t need to give up pizza completely at least- especially since, amazingly, mozzarella is supposedly a-ok!  And same with desserts, if I take the time to make healthier ones, I can still indulge here and there.  I think the part I have found overwhelming this week is the lack of time to plan and prepare things.  Last week went decently because I had a sick day to get some cooking done!  This weekend and week has been chaotic and the piles of homework/reading are adding up, and so I’ve been eating terribly.

Sadly, though, even when I have tried my best to eat the right things, a few times it seems like it has backfired!  I made homemade oatmeal on Sunday with my homemade coconut milk, bananas, and bacon (weird, I know, but surprisingly tasty!).  All of that should be fine, in theory, and yet I felt really crappy afterwards and couldn’t eat lunch until after 1 because I just felt so terrible!  The only thing I can think of is maybe I have a sensitivity to bananas when they get too ripe.  I realized just recently that bananas are low FODMAP only when they aren’t super ripe.  Once they get pretty brown, the fructose level skyrockets, so assuming that fructose is one of my issues, this might explain my pain.  But oh what a terrible thing, I eat bananas all the time and they are a STAPLE for my smoothies- that’s the only way I can add all the crazy things that I do without needing any sort of sugar.  So I’m going to have to play around with this and see if bananas are actually an issue.

Another surprise issue was some buckwheat pancakes I made recently.  I made them a few weeks ago, before even considering this diet, but have heard good things about buckwheat, which despite its name, is wheat-free.  I had three of them for dinner and added some bacon (yeah I’ve been on kind of a bacon kick), topped with sunflower butter, bananas, and maple syrup.  I didn’t feel that great afterwards, but I thought it was because they were a lot more filling than I expected and three was too many.  So I had them again for breakfast a week or so later.  And didn’t feel that great afterwards, but again just thought maybe I ate too much or something.  I decided to give them a try again this morning, topping them with raspberries instead of bananas, and still it was an almost instantaneous feeling of miserable!!  So sadly, I think I’m intolerant to buckwheat.  What a bummer!  I hate wasting food, but I think I’m going to have to give the rest of them in the freezer the boot.  *sigh* Sometimes these adventures don’t turn out for the best, huh?

buckwheat pancakes

buckwheat pancakes w/ bacon

Leave a Reply

