Prep for Starting the FODMAP diet

I spent some time a few nights ago getting some food prepped to launch into the FODMAP diet. In the meantime, I had a few favorite things for the “last” time at least for awhile, like marshmallows, couscous, and ginger beer.  And no surprise, I’m feeling pretty crappy!!  But I guess it has helped me confirm that I want to give this diet a try.

So I cooked up a huge batch of mashed carrots, butternut squash, and one spaghetti squash.  I also made my own marinara sauce and it actually was pretty easy and tasted good with a good thickness!  I used these two products to make it fast:

easy homemade marinara

easy homemade marinara

Then I added some dried basil, dried oregano, s&p, and this crazy ingredient that I have read about on a lot of other blogs: Asafoetida Powder (also called Hing).  I got it at our local Indian grocery store, super cheap like $2 for a bottle and I think it will probably outlive me, so I think it was a good deal.  Everything I read says that a little  bit goes a long ways, so I didn’t want to overdo it.  I think I put it maybe like 1/32 tsp, I mean it was a TINY amount but this stuff is very strong smelling.  I had the bottle in a ziploc bag and could still smell it through the closed cupboard, so ended up putting it in a mason jar!  It is supposed to have an onion+garlic flavor, which is certainly a bit of a necessity in marinara.  I do think it helped enhance the flavor so that it didn’t just taste like straight tomatoes!  But definitely going to continue to be cautious about how much I put in things, it certainly has an overpowering smell and taste.

I used some of the marinara to make these “No Crust Pizza Bites” that I found on Pinterest.  I had some of the thick Canadian bacon in my freezer that needed to get used up, so thought I’d give it a whirl! For toppings we just added pineapple, they are small so not much room for many toppings.  I also wanted to try it on some spaghetti squash that I had already cooked.  They turned out okay, I wouldn’t say they were anything to write home about.  The hubbie was not overly thrilled with them, so probably won’t make them again soon, but gave it a shot and if you have all of the ingredients on hand, makes for a quick meal!

no crust pizzas

no crust pizzas

The last thing I made this week, which was more for work, was a Paleo Pumpkin Pie.  We are having a “Pi Day” social, so thought I’d try my hand on a semi-healthy one!  It dawned on me that I have never made any sort of pie before.  Luckily it was pretty easy and sure looks good- can’t wait to try it this afternoon!  Only thing in it that I’m a little iff-ish about for me are the eggs.  I’m hopeful that I might be able to add eggs back to my diet after this go with the FODMAP diet, though!!

paleo pumpkin pie

paleo pumpkin pie

Leave a Reply

