Day 7

I’m still on the fence about whether or not I’ve been feeling better.  I would say that I have had a bit more energy, even despite staying up a little later and being stressed with homework.

A few more foods I’ve made/tried this week.  I made my own pumpkin spice granola!!  This will be super nice to have on hand for snacks and breakfast!  I mostly followed the recipe, but didn’t add any flax seeds or sesame seeds and instead added chia seeds and oat bran.  I think next time I do it, I’m going to omit the sunflower seeds (just not a huge fan), add more almonds and pecans, and  less dried fruit (I used raisins, dried cranberries, and dates).  Especially since I recently realized I’m not really supposed to have any dried fruit!  Argh..  too bad!  This is tasty!

pumpkin granola

pumpkin granola

I also made an olive tapenade, I thought it sounded good to have to put on burgers and rice cakes.  I followed the recipe, except for the anchovies, using a mix of kalamata and black olives.  It is tasty!!  I used it for my lunch which was inspired by this Spinach and Feta Quesadilla recipe.  I used the GF tortillas I bought and added half a can of salmon to the spinach/herb/feta mix, then put a layer of the olive tapenade on one of the tortillas.  SUPER yummy, though I would say that the GF tortillas are a bit disappointing, I really like a good crunchy flour tortilla and these were just okay.

olive tapenade

olive tapenade

spinach, feta, salmon quesadilla

spinach, feta, salmon quesadilla

I also tried out using this “coconut powder” that I picked up at the Indian supermarket, it was super cheap at just $3.99 a pound, where the shredded kind at Hy-Vee is $5.99 a pound.  Plus I thought with it being finer it might make a better milk!  I think it worked great and it definitely makes a much better, finer flour than the shredded, so I might have to go back and stock up!

coconut powder

coconut powder

I finally tried some of the goat’s milk yogurt, I wanted to go a week without any yogurt before I tried it.  So a small bit of it sat all week mixed up with maple syrup, cinnamon, and some berries, to get the flavors well-melded.  It was okay.. I don’t know, goat’s milk just has a weird flavor to it!  Plus, I’m not so sure I’m feeling that great after eating it..  I think I might try to find some recipe that I can use it up with, but I am going to continue this week without yogurt.

For dessert, I had some raspberries, but really wanted something WITH them (ahem: chocolate!), so instead I spread some almond butter on each.  Tasty!  Kind of like a de-constructed PB&J.. except.. without the peanut butter, or really jelly.. or bread.. HAH!

pseudo-PB&J

pseudo-PB&J

Leave a Reply

