Week 5 Meal Plan

On to Week 5!  I made it, mostly, for my original 30 day challenge and it really hasn’t been that hard to omit some of the issue causing foods, so I’m going to keep at it, for the most part.  This weekend I did have a few cheats; in class, one group gave a presentation about Japan and brought so many fun-looking Japanese treats that I just had to try!!  And I quickly paid for it, oof.  Not sure if it was the peanuts or possible wheat or soy, but it was almost instant stomach pain.  Darn.  Today I cheated a bit at PF Chang’s, I had their chicken lettuce wraps, which have mushrooms and I’m sure there was probably a few other things mixed in there that I shouldn’t have had, plus I had a little of my husband’s chicken and broccoli.  Surprisingly, I didn’t feel all that bad!

week 5 plan

week 5 plan

week 5 plan cont.

week 5 plan cont.

week 5 prep

week 5 prep

Today I made up another granola recipe as well as making a savory porridge.  For the granola, I followed this “how to” from Buzzfeed to create my own mix.  I used a mix of rolled oats and quinoa flakes, pecans, almond slivers, pumpkin seeds, sesame seeds, ground chia seeds, coconut chips, golden raisins, and dried cranberries.  And of course CINNAMON, ginger, cloves, and nutmeg.  I used maple syrup with some vanilla for the sweetener, melted coconut oil, and an egg white.  The egg white was what was supposed to make it crunchy, so I thought it was worth a try.  It turned out GREAT!!

DIY granola

DIY granola

For the savory porridge, I mostly followed the recipe, but used homemade coconut milk instead of whole milk and I added chopped, fresh spinach because I thought it needed some more GREEN.  Looks tasty, should make for fun lunches this week!  Great way to use some of the homemade chicken stock in my freezer.

savory porridge

savory porridge

One response

  1. Pingback: Meals this Week | Adventures in Picky Stomachs

Leave a Reply

